What Are The Gun Laws In Ohio To Keep You Safe?

American Revival Apparel Company
Feb 4, 2016
Anyone know the laws of Ohio a little bit better than I do? Basically I'm trying to figure out if Ohio has a stand your ground law, and if we are a castle doctrine state as well.

Thanks for the info in advance, it means a lot.

~ZENAS~

Tracker
Mar 14, 2016
Ohio has a castle doctrine regarding your home and car. It is nuanced so I advise looking into the law. A good start is the booklet put out by the attorney general. Go to the attorney general's website to find it. We don't currently have stand your ground but I can see that possibly changing this term of the general assembly or next.

I'm a prosecuting attorney so message me if you have specific questions. I can't give legal advice but I will try to help get you the info you need.

RangerTim

Rangers Lead The Way!
Feb 17, 2016
As stated, we have castle doctrine, but in my opinion it is HUGELY misunderstood. So many people think it means you can immediately use lethal force within your home. That is not the case.

It takes the burden of proof off of you and places it on the prosecution in a self defense shooting (generally Self Defense is an affirmative defense)

Castle doctrine also does not eliminate the need to satisfy the AOJ requirements to justify the use of Deadly Force.

-Ability

-Opportunity

-Jeopardy/Intent

Castle does eliminate the duty to retreat within ones home and does extend to ones personal vehicle. Again, reading through the AG's booklet and the ORC will help considerably. Hope this post did a bit as well.

~ZENAS~

Tracker
Mar 14, 2016
Well, to be fair, our castle doctrine does give a rebuttable presumption that a person trespassing or attempting to trespass in your home or car are there to cause you serious bodily harm. It's not only the duty to retreat prong of the deadly force self defense test that castle doctrine gives you the presumption of self defense.