Remington FMJ bullets--Any good?

Preparedness Depot in Acworth, GA

framedcraig1

no fear...Ruger is here.
Jun 8, 2012
Mapleton,ut
I use them about 30% of the time for range work Doug. I have had no problem with them, and have found them to be quite consistent. Maybe a tad dirtier than some..but then...I like holsters AND cleaning guns...So I'm good. 2000 rounds?!...Me...I'd say go for it.

SkipD

Helper-outer
Jun 8, 2012
Southeast Wisconsin
Zip code
First off, I have no experience with those bullets. I usually use Hornady bullets for that type, size, and weight.

However, as an example, I have found bullets (.224 55gr FMJ w/cannelure by Winchester) that are very sloppily made compared to the same type of Hornady bullets that I use for my AR-15. The lead sections in the bases of the Winchester bullets were not filled out uniformly like the Hornady bullets were. At 50 yards, my group size doubled with the Winchester bullets.

Without testing, I obviously won't bad-mouth the Remington bullets. I would, though, suggest that you try a small sample if you can for accuracy (repeatability) and then make your decision based on that test - especially if you have a benchmark load to compare them to.

lws380

Frontiersman
Mar 22, 2010
framedcraig1 said:
I use them about 30% of the time for range work Doug. I have had no problem with them, and have found them to be quite consistent. Maybe a tad dirtier than some..but then...I like holsters AND cleaning guns...So I'm good. 2000 rounds?!...Me...I'd say go for it.

They are just the bullets for reloading, not Remington ammo.

lws380

Frontiersman
Mar 22, 2010
SkipD said:
First off, I have no experience with those bullets. I usually use Hornady bullets for that type, size, and weight.