Stolen Valor

GA Firing Line

Would you crucify a guy not knowing all the facts just because you think he or she may be lying?

• Yes, stolen valor is a serious thing and it pisses me off.

Votes: 1 16.7%
  • Nah, I take them at their word and then if proven to be wrong I still don't get mad.

Votes: 2 33.3%
  • I have no opinion on the subject. I base my reactions on the moment and how each situation hits me.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I give others the benefit of the doubt unless proven otherwise and then I would be highly disappoint

Votes: 3 50.0%

• Total voters

Bypass

Arrrgghh!!! I'm a pirate.
Mar 25, 2015
Chatsworth, Georgia
Zip code
As I am sure most of you know I am a veteran and I think I have done my part as a lot of you guys have. This stolen valor thing though. Yeah I get why people want to be like us and even pretend to be us but some guys who have actually been there like myself take this stolen valor thing way too far. I was recently on face book and discovered that a guy I don't personally know was crucified and had everyone claiming that he was a faker and he never actually served in the manor he said he did. They spread the accusations all over face book and every other social media outlet they had access to and well it turns out the guy was telling the truth about his service and the guys who perpetrated the crucifying well their names are now mud. I personally have never gotten pissed off about this stolen valor thing. I tend not to judge anyone who claims to have served. I just take them at their word until proven otherwise in which case I generally have nothing to say on the subject. I do get why some guys may blow a fuse at the slightest hint of a stolen valor situation though.

What do you guys think about it? Do you sit back like I do knowing you did your part or do you blow a gasket every time you even think about it?

Reactions: sam and dougiemac

dougiemac

Lord of Chaos
Owner
Lifetime Supporter
Aug 26, 2014
North Georgia