Should your carbine be on "safe" during a mag change?

GA Firing Line

cmshoot

Marksman
Jul 12, 2016
Dallas, GA
Zip code
Pat McNamara thinks so, but I disagree.

I don’t put it on “safe” during a reload, but I do put it on “safe” when letting it hang, or transitioning to my Secondary.

I don’t understand his thought process that if someone doesn’t put it on “safe” during reload, then they won’t put it on “safe” when it’s hanging. Those are 2 different tasks and handled differently. That’s how I’ve done it for 30 years and I have never slung a weapon without placing it on “safe”.

I’ve been teaching my students this for 20 years, again with no issues. I explain both sides of the argument, state that I do not use the “safety” during reloads, but allow my students to do so if that makes them comfortable.

I don't get the argument he puts out about operating behind your partner, either. My partner should not be pointing his carbine at me at any time; loaded or unloaded, on "safe" or on "fire". If he is not pointing the weapon at me, then I don't care what state he has it in.

I’m not saying he is wrong, it is purely a difference in techniques. I will say that I also don't agree with the "my way or the highway" mentality, but I see that a lot at different places.

A friend of mine has taught classes with Pat McNamara and does not agree with this stance of his. He asked McNamara why he isn't worried about reloads without a safety on his Glock or 1911, and the answer was, "Do it because it’s there". That's as big a non-answer as my Dad telling me to, "Do it because I said so!"

What's y'all's thoughts?

Here is the article with McNamara's side of the argument: https://www.ballisticmag.com/2018/12/25/carbine-safety-mag-change/?fbclid=IwAR1gT_pv1ZvhZuyPSTTxzQQhDusamvgq5RWG5ysjIJLKfmZwvKANFXYKc2k

Reactions: dial1911

Herk

Hunter
Mar 16, 2017
Colorado
Zip code