Lead hardness test kits

Howard Law

BubbaDX

Frontiersman
Jun 8, 2012
St. Louis, MO
Anyone have experience with lead hardness test kits? There are several out there, some more expensive than others. I found one made by Lee Precision that was under $70 shipped to my house. I watched a couple Youtube videos and it looks fairly simple to use. It should give me an decent idea what the hardness of my lead stash really is.

SkipD

Helper-outer
Jun 8, 2012
Southeast Wisconsin
Zip code
I've never measured the hardness of the alloys I've used even though I could take them to any number of heat treat shops where I worked as an instrumentation contractor to have checked. I simply checked the performance of a batch of alloy before going whole-hog making bullets from it. I have always had some tin pellets around to add if I needed to increase the hardness and some pure lead if I wanted it softer.

RICHGCOOP

Marksman
Mar 7, 2010
CANTON, OHIO
Zip code
Years ago to test the hardness of bullets from different batches I would put two in the Vice nose to nose and squeeze them down. The one that mushrooms the most is a softer of the two.

RICHGCOOP

DROID3 - Tap talk

Reactions: dial1911

Denny4kids

Scout
Dec 15, 2014
Idaho
Here is a site that has always had the info I needed: http://castboolits.gunloads.com/

At work we have a cool tool that is used to check the hardness of steel. It has never been used, Mercedes sent it to us years ago. You place it in position and a weighted rod is dropped. You then measure the divot the tool has made. Those Germans! I may bring some lead projectiles to work and see if it works on soft materials. It' a really small tool, 150mm or so.

I compete with 147gr 9mm flat point coated lead projectiles. The coating reduces leading and keep the lead off my fingers. My seating die doesn't get gunked up with lube as coated bullets are lube free. The best part is my weapon doesn't smoke as much at my once a month indoor match.