1911 Questions

GA Firing Line

Willy Leadwell

Purveyor of Polyurethane
Lifetime Supporter
Mar 26, 2015
Loganville, GA
Zip code
I've got my SR1911 stripped down to do a two tone finish along with some cleaning and polishing. Going to install a magwell and extended slide stop. I'm not trying to go full operator status, just change a couple things that don't suit me.

My questions are:

1) Is there anything I can do to tighten up the of the grip safety to get rid of the rattle?

2) Is there any common/simple upgrades that I should make while It's all torn apart?

This is my first time tearing into a 1911, so I'm really just learning the ins & outs of the platform. Don't want to get it all back together and then learn that I shoulda done ______ while I had it apart.

DoglegArms

Silencer Dealer of 2015, 2016, 2017
Jul 12, 2015
Dallas, GA
www.doglegarms.com
Zip code
Last edited:

Willy Leadwell

Purveyor of Polyurethane
Lifetime Supporter
Mar 26, 2015
Loganville, GA
Zip code
I usually get trigger job and replace the sights but I take it a smith.

http://www.gunception.com/how-to/1911-trigger-job-sear-angles-sear-spring/

Have no idea how to fix the rattle on the grip safety other than replacing it. Maybe search the 1911 forums for a solution.
I plan to do my own trigger job, but I've got some reading and youtubing to do first.

I don't plan to put the stock sights back on, they're pretty crappy. Not sure which ones I'm going to go with yet. I'd like a single dot rear sight, but have absolutely no use for night sights on this gun. Just have to explore my options.

I really want learn to do as much of my own smithing as possible. I've got skills and I've got tools, I just lack experience.

Have you shot the R1 yet?

Yeah, I took it out last weekend. I posted some comments about it somewhere. Maybe in the original listing. I love it, except the grips. They feel like 24 grit sandpaper after a couple mags. I've got some VZs on the way.

Last edited:

DoglegArms