Butchering your own deer.....a "how to" series

the_great_white

High Drag - Low Speed Operator
Site Supporter
Jul 3, 2015
The Interwebs!
Season is fast approaching, although not fast enough IMO. Just a quick refresher course and if you would like to save yourself some $$$, here's a nice little series i found on youtube. I've been butchering my own for quite a few years and it's fairly simple and something you can do yourself. I always try and share my experience with the new guys and try and teach them and hope these videos help some of those who want to try it for themselves. This isn't exactly how i do it, but it will get you a start and you will work into your own technique before long.

why pay someone to do something you can do yourself relatively easy?

The first time you try this yourself, it may get frustrating at times, but shoot more deer and gain more practice! :D It gets easier and easier!

Give it a try!

medium187mph

Tracker
Trusted Trader
Jun 4, 2015
Lagrange, GA
I'd like to try this but not when I double up....

Dang yellow jackets swarm me every time because its never cold enough when I'm dropping them.

AirOpsMgr

Director of Lavatory Services
Administrator
Lifetime Supporter
Mar 24, 2015
McDonough, Georgia
Zip code
Good post, I see a few things I did not remember when I was taught.

Now bring on the squirrel, pheasant and rabbit videos, I need to see what else I've forgotten!

Reactions: madHatter

Woodstock

Sniper
Jun 29, 2015
Zip code
Good one GW. May hunt this year if the deer pop at my hunt club is back up. coyotes ate em . Only other choices are overhunted public lands

Tedkennedy

Omnivore
Site Supporter
May 17, 2016
Oklahoma
Zip code
Been butchering my deer for 20+ years. Used to take the boned-out scraps& shoulders to a place in Tulsa that made awesome bratwurst, smoked sausage, etc...